The 2019 Hong Kong ESG Reporting Awards have 6 categories. Participating organization may submit entries to multiple categories. Description of each category is detailed below.

Best ESG Report

The Best ESG Report award recognizes organizations that showcase the best practices within their industry on ESG reporting, with outstanding performance in all criteria in accordance with Appendix 27 ESG Reporting Guideline stipulated in the HKEX Listing Rules. This award is divided into large-, mid- and small-cap divisions according to the market capitalization of the organizations*.

Large market capitalization: >HK$30 billion
Middle market capitalization: HK$5 billion – HK$30 billion
Small market capitalization: <HK$5 billion

*Please note that the calculation should be as at your company’s recent financial year-end date. Should the date fall on a public holiday, please use the last working day before your financial year-end date.


Excellence in GRI Report

This award is awarded to organizations that adopt the Global Reporting Initiative’s (GRI) Sustainability Reporting Standards, showing excellence not only in adhering to GRI reporting principles and requirements but also displaying the best practices in sustainability governance, materiality assessment, stakeholder engagement, setting targets, reporting performance on supply chain, etc.


Excellence in Sustainability Reporting for Non-listed Company

This award is opened for reports of non-listed companies, recognizing their excellent performance on identifying sustainability risks and reporting on sustainability strategy, management approach and practices.


Excellence in Environmental Disclosure

This award is to recognize companies that demonstrates environmental stewardship by providing comprehensive disclosure on their environmental performance. The winning reports should demonstrate strategic integration of environmental considerations in all aspects of operation, with relevant data, initiatives, targets performance disclosed and progress.


Excellence in Social Disclosure

This is a new category recognizing companies with outstanding reporting on social aspects, including employee engagement, workplace diversity, occupational health and safety, supply chain management and community investment. The winning reports should demonstrate impacts on their strategies and initiatives on related aspects, reflected by relevant standards, data and target-setting, going beyond a general statement of commitment.


Innovative Front-runner Award

This award is to honour reports that go beyond the norm, running at the forefront in ESG reporting and sustainability. Reports will be given credit for particular areas including participating and reporting on global initiatives such as SDGs, TCFD, Integrated Reporting framework, displaying efforts and results on transforming the organization’s value chain, as well as engaging in social investments, etc.